Church

Changing a Church

If you’ve been involved in church for any time in your life, you know that change is not always well-received. Pretty much across the board, if you want to change things, small or big, there will always be people who don’t want it. I’ve been reminded of that yet again just recently.

 

In almost every church I’ve been a part of, there has been a monthly list printed out of members’ birthdays and anniversaries. I’ve always appreciated the list because it’s helped me keep track of various members’ important days–who doesn’t need their memories jogged every month for people’s birthdays? As a forgetful person, I’ve always liked this list and wanted to start one here at this church. I honestly thought it would appreciated and welcomed. Apparently I was wrong. Although most people willingly gave me their important dates, there were some who wouldn’t. They flat out refused. I have to say, I was a little taken aback. I wasn’t putting years on the birthdays, so people wouldn’t know how old they were–so why wouldn’t they allow their birthdays or anniversaries to be listed every month for the congregation? One reason given was because they didn’t want a fuss to be made over them on their birthday. Or that they didn’t want their birthday to be written down electronically in case it got in the wrong hands.

 

What did this teach me? It doesn’t matter how big or how small the change…there will always be some people who do not want to change. No matter what. Can you imagine what will happen when we say we want to add kneeling benches into the sanctuary? 😉 just kidding.

Leave a Reply

